This Week I’m Reading…

A Stephen King book! On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft is very hard to put down. I actually read the 101 pages that I’ve read of it in one sitting! Granted, this isn’t terribly atypical of me (I read the entire 655 pages of Inkspell by Cornelia Funke in two days back in middle school).

10569

I love this book so far although I’ve only read the section titled “C.V.” which is a memoir. He talks about everything from his childhood and constant doctor’s visits when he was 6 to the day he met his wife and even when he found out that Carrie’s paperback rights had sold for $400,000. There’s a lot that I didn’t know about him and I can’t wait to continue reading. One thing he said that I found interesting is

“put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support-system for art. It’s the other way around.” – Stephen King

I think that, by saying that life isn’t a support-system for art, he’s saying that art is what makes life livable. I completely agree with this because I love art, whether it be writing, painting, photography, theater, dance, or anything else and I know that my life wouldn’t be the same if I couldn’t experience or create art myself. Life wouldn’t be nearly as fun without art.

I’m also reading a book by Patrick Ness called The Crane Wife, which I may or may not review. I probably will in a few weeks. I actually was just looking to see if there were any books by Patrick Ness that I hadn’t read (he’s one of my favorite YA authors) and I saw this one. The title caught my eye because it is also the title of a song by The Decemberists (“The Crane Wife 1+2”), so I opened it up and what catches my eye but the epitaph:

And all the stars were crashing around

As I laid eyes on what I’d found

The Decemberists

I got super excited and I had to check it out immediately (normally I would have made a note of it in my phone). If you haven’t heard of The Decemberists, I highly recommend you listen to some of their songs because they are lyrically and musically beautiful.

392

One thought on “This Week I’m Reading…

Leave a Reply

